Brownfield Awards 2022

 13 October 2022 | London

Brought to you by Environment Analyst's Brownfield & Regeneration Network, the Brownfield Awards bring the brownfield community together to recognise the outstanding achievements made by individuals and organisations, through the use of innovative techniques, awareness of sustainability, engagement of stakeholders and demonstration of best practice.

This year's 17th annual Brownfield Awards took place on 14 October 2021 and celebrated excellence across a range of categories in the brownfield and contaminated land sector.

Next year’s Awards ceremony will be returning to London on 13 October 2022 and we can’t wait to celebrate with you in-person.


Entries for the 2022 Awards will open on 1 February, and information on the categories and criteria will be announced shortly.

2021 Brownfield Awards Winners’ Guide

The 2021 Brownfield Awards Winners’ Guide is now available, so you can read the in-depth case studies of the 17 winning entries, and find information on the shortlisted submissions.

2021 Brownfield Award winners

Winner of Best Project Preparatory Work


Winner of Best Scientific/Technical/Digital Advance or Innovation

Winner of Best Industry Innovation / Adaptation To Covid-19

  • Arcadis (UK) Limited and Vale Europe Limited for their entry Acton Refinery Decommissioning, Demolition And Remediation

Highly commended entry:


Winner of Best Public Engagement And Participation (Sponsored by Celtic)


Winner of Best Application Of Remediation Technologies

  • Celtic Technologies Ltd for their entry Tank Source Remediation Works Using An Enclosure

Highly commended entry:

Winner of Best Remediation Of A Smaller Site


Highly commended entry:

  • Seed Environmental Ltd for their entry Thermal Remediation At A Domestic Property

Winner of Best Project Closure/Verification

Highly commended entry:

Joint winners of Best Re-use Of Materials

Winner of Best Urban Regeneration/ Brownfield Scheme (Sponsored by AECOM)


Joint winners of Best International Project

Winner of Best Public Sector/Not For Profit Led Project

  • RPS for their entry Remediation Of East Tip, Haulbowline Island

Highly commended entry:

Winner of Best Infrastructure Project

Winner of Best Biodiversity Enhancement


Winner of Judges' Choice Awards

Winner of Best Young Brownfield Professional

  • Rae Watney, Leeds City Council


Watch the 2021 Awards Ceremony

The 2021 Brownfield Awards were a big success, attracting over 200 industry professionals. Each attendee had access to their own dedicated virtual awards table, entertainment from the talented Chris Turner, as well as an exclusive viewing of the live ceremony announcing the winners. 

2021 Categories

  1. Best Project Preparatory Work

  2. Best Scientific/Technical/Digital Advance or Innovation

  3. Best industry Innovation / Adaptation to Covid-19

  4. Best Public Engagement and Participation

  5. Best Application of Remediation Technologies

  6. Best Remediation of a Smaller Site

  7. Best Project Closure/Verification

  8. Best Re-use of Materials

  9. Best Urban Regeneration/ Brownfield scheme

  10. Best International Project

  11. Best Public Sector/Not for Profit Led Project

  12. Best Infrastructure Project

  13. Best Biodiversity Enhancement

  14. Judges’ Choice

  15. Best Young Brownfield Professional

For more information on each category and the criteria for entry click here.

2021 Judges

Ian Evans.jpeg


Technical Director, Wood

Alex-Ferguson (1).jpg


Managing Director, Delta-Simons

james cartwright (1).jpg


Director, McAuliffe

Frank-Westcott (1).png


Director, Westenviro

Ian-Grant (3).png


Editorial Director, Environment Analyst



 Technical Specialist Groundwater & Contaminated Land, Environment Agency



Associate, The Environmental Protection Group Ltd

Lisa-Hathway (1).jpg


Regional Manager South, GGS

Ann Barker (1).jpg


Lead Officer Contaminated Land, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

Richard Boyle (1).jpg


Senior Technical Manager, Homes England

photo David Rudland.jpg


Contaminated Land Officer and Remediation Project Manager, Swindon Borough Council

Beautiful Brownfields Photo Competition

The winner of the Beautiful Brownfields photography competition is Joshua Cuming, Soilfix, for his photo ‘Reflection on sustainable hydrocarbon remediation’.


This photography competition aims to celebrate the artistic unusual and often extraordinary characteristics of brownfield land.